Marshall County Health Department

About Us


The Marshall County Health Department serves Marshall County, Kentucky, including the cities of Benton, Calvert City and Hardin. The public health needs of the county’s 31,189 citizens is provided through the health department and it’s staff.

The health department is governed by a 12 member board of directors and is led by an executive director. Eight departments make up the organization including: HANDS, environmental, administration, health education, lab services, clerical, nutritional services, finance and clinical services.

The goal of the health department is to provide the 10 essential public health services to the citizens of Marshall County. These services are:

1. Monitor health status to identify community health problems.
2. Diagnose and investigate health problems and health hazards in the community.
3. Inform, educate, and empower people about health issues.
4. Mobilize community partnerships to identify and solve health problems.
5. Develop policies and plans that support individual and community health efforts.
6. Enforce laws and regulations that protect health and ensure safety.
7. Link people to needed personal health services and assure the provision of health care when otherwise unavailable.
8. Assure a competent public health and personal healthcare workforce.
9. Evaluate effectiveness, accessibility, and quality of personal and population-based health services.
10. Research for new insights and innovative solutions to health problems.